Turismo X heads to Wales...

Turismo X heads to Wales...

16 May 2022

The club racing revolution has reached Wales! On Thursday June 2nd, Anglesey’s ‘Trac Môn’ will host the second round of Turismo X’s 2022 season.

The visit to Anglesey marks a return for MSVT Racing to the Welsh circuit after a ten year absence and, following a thrilling opening round at Silverstone in April, anticipation levels amongst drivers and the wider paddock couldn’t be higher.

With its stunning location on the west coast of Anglesey, overlooking the Irish Sea and Snowdonia mountain range, the circuit is sure to stun all those in attendance. It will provide the perfect backdrop for drivers to test themselves, and their high-powered machinery, to the very limits.

There will be a number of distinctive challenges for drivers to contend with on the 1.55 miles picturesque Coastal Circuit, including the extremely popular ‘Corkscrew’. Competitors will pursue their top speed after they exit the 10% banked turn three, accelerating up through Church and School and into the tricky, winding Rocket and Peel. After exiting Peel, it’s time for competitors to descend through ‘Corkscrew’ and complete the lap. It’ll be a tough task for competitors and they will have to be at their very best if they want to claim top step of the podium.

The lap record for the Coastal Circuit currently stands at 1:01:741, set by Sylvester Mullins in 2009.

Last time out it was the inaugural race for Turismo X and it certainly didn’t disappoint. You can relive all the action by reading our race report here.

As it stands, IP with Darkside are currently our overall and class S championship leaders, with Darkside Developments #6 and Mangoes Racing trailing in second and third respectively. AB Motorsport are the current leaders of Class X, with Darkside Developments #12 and Team Norfolk leading the way in Class A and Class B respectively. Given how close the point standings are after just one round, it’ll be fascinating to see who comes out on top after round two.  

Find the full Championship standings here.