The Revolution has begun.... Silverstone Race Report!

The Revolution has begun.... Silverstone Race Report!

27 April 2022

Silverstone. 24th April 2022. The club racing revolution arrived.

The first ever Turismo X qualifying took place as the first session of Sunday, with the sun shining down on a new era for MSVT Racing. It didn’t take long for competitors to start setting some impressive lap times, with Jasver Sapra setting the early bench mark time with a blistering 1:01:903. The lap remained unbeaten for the remainder of the session and saw Jasver become the first ever driver to lead Turismo X’s top ten qualifiers into SuperPole.

There was a keen sense of intrigue and excitement amongst the spectators, officials and the paddock as SuperPole kicked off. Each of the weekend’s top ten had just one shot at one flying lap for pole position and the drivers appeared to relish and thrive under the pressure. It was Mark Lee of SVG Motorsport who earned the honor of topping the first ever SuperPole, meaning he would line up on the grid for Race One in first – ahead of Bryan Bransom (Simon Green Motorsport) and Jasver Sapra (Jasver Sapra). Darren Goes (Mangoes Racing), Steve Hewson (Intelligent Money Racing) and Kevin Stirling (Team Norfolk) qualified first in class S, A and B respectively.

The first of two sprint races on the day got underway with Bransom launching from the grid to take the lead of the race in his BMW E46 M3 CSL. Bransom comprehensively lead every lap from there, ensuring he took the first Turismo X checkered flag ahead of pole-sitter Lee and fastest in qualifying session Sapra. Mark Lee’s second place finish clinched the Class X top step for SVG Motorsport, with: Ryan Parkin (Darkside Developments), Scott Parkin (Darkside Developments) and Kevin Stirling securing class victories in S, A and B.

Grid order for the second race of the day was decided by the finishing positions of race one, meaning it was Simon Green Motorsport on pole. There was heartbreak for SVG Motorsport in race two, with their Ginetta G56 retiring mere moments before race finish, having lead every single lap of the race until that point. SVG’s spoils became Sapra’s delight, as he claimed overall victory – almost 10secs ahead of Class S winner, Adam Blair (IP with Darkside), in second. The retirement of SVG also made way for Gary Hufford (AB Motorsport) to pick up class X victory, with Intelligent Money Racing taking their maiden class A victory of 2022. Team Norfolk were untouchable in Class B, picking up a clean sweep of fastest in class in qualifying, race one class victory and race two class victory.

Elsewhere, Freddy Hewitt (Freddy Hewitt Racing) picked up two second place finishes in Class B, while: Dylan Brytcha (NJM Racing), Jonathan Mee (PJS), Jack Wright (Team Air Supply), Richard Clarke (Finsport), Darren Goes and Shaun Andrews (Beaufort Racing) all picked up one class podium each. Congratulations to all our inaugural Turismo X podium finishers!

All eyes now turn to the second round of the season in June, where we eagerly await seeing which competitor(s) will claim the honors when Turismo X hits Wales!