The story of 2022 so far...

The story of 2022 so far...

28 July 2022

We’re now at the halfway point of the inaugural Turismo X championship! The club racing revolution has thrilled competitors and the wider paddock alike, with its blend of SuperPole and two short sprint races providing a particular hit and source of entertainment. As we’re eagerly looking ahead to what the remaining races of the season will bring, what better time to also recap on all the excitement from the season so far…

The season kicked off at Silverstone on April 24th, with one of the fastest grids MSVT Racing have ever assembled. The honour of topping Turismo X’s first ever SuperPole session went the way of SVG Motorsport’s Mark Lee, who topped the time set by fastest qualifier Jasver Sapra. SVG Motorsport’s Ginetta G56 was clearly quick around the Northamptonshire circuit and this was demonstrated as he comprehensively topped the Class X podium. The story of race one in Class S belonged to Darkside Developments, with the team finishing first and second on the class podium, courtesy of their #6 and #11 cars. There was further success for the team too, as their #12 VW Golf romped home to Class A victory. Team Norfolk produced a strong performance on their way to the Class B top step.

There was heartbreak for SVG Motorsport in the second race at Silverstone, retiring from the race mere moments before the finish, having lead every lap of the race. One teams spoils was another teams gains and AB Motorsport seized the Class X victory, improving on their second in race one. Both Darkside #11 and Intelligent Money Racing finished second in class in the first races of the day, but managed to both claim glory in the second race in class S and A respectively. Team Norfolk didn’t put a foot wrong throughout the event as they stormed to a second win of the day. Elsewhere, Freddy Hewitt Racing picked up two second place finishes in Class B, while: NJM Racing #2, PJS, Team Air Supply, Finsport, Mangoes Racing and Beaufort Racing all picked up one class podium each. The sheer number of differing podium finishers highlighting the competitiveness of the new championship.

After a short break, Turismo X then headed to Wales for Round Two. The stunning Anglesey coastal circuit played host to a Dylan Brytcha SuperPole masterclass. The NJM Racing #2 driver put in a blistering lap to start on pole and then, with thanks to a well-executed start, put in a highly impressive drive to take victory in the day’s first race – both in Class S and overall. Darkside’s remarkable start to the season continued as Scott Parkin in the #6 car secured the Class A top step in a thoroughly professional performance. Meanwhile, Knockout Racing clinched their first podium of the year in winning Class B’s opening race.

Adam Blair (Darkside Developments #11) had proved, without reward, that he had quick race pace throughout the event and it was in race two this was fully demonstrated. Blair put an end to the potential  clean sweep by claiming victory, ahead of NJM Racing #2 and Finsport. In Class A, PJS improved on their Silverstone results and driver Jonathan Mee thoroughly deserved his first Turismo X class win. Knockout Racing made it two wins from two in Class B – a fantastic moment for driver pairing Goodall and Baldwin.

High levels of anticipation and Snetterton sunshine greeted the club racing revolution to Norfolk, for round number three. Mangoes Racing was impressive right from the off, putting in a stellar lap in qualifying and holding his nerve in SuperPole to make it three different polesitters in the opening three races. Despite the pace shown previous, a slow start meant that Mangoes Racing was jumped by Darkside Developments #11 and Autorevive London early on. An epic battle between the three ensued, with Autorevive pipping Darkside by just 0.019 secs over the line! However, a penalty to Autorevive meant that it was Adam Blair who was awarded the win to extend his championship lead. Autorevive did still manage to claim the Class X victory, while Darkside Developments claimed their second class victory in Class A – thanks to Scott Parkin. Team Norfolk took their third victory of the season in Class B.

Race number two was a redemption story for Mangoes Racing, who returned to the front of the pack to claim a hard-fought overall and class S victory. Darkside Developments #11 and NJM Racing #2 continued their fine 2022 form by joining Darren Goes on the podium, while Scott Parkin (Darkside #12) confidently made it two Class A victories from two for his VW Golf. Two Lotus Elises joined Parkin on the podium in the form of John LaMaster and Steve Summers. Team Norfolk also secured their second Class B win of the day with a thoroughly professional drive, finishing ahead of Wolf Motorsport and Knockout Racing.

This all means that as we head into the final three rounds of the season, the current class championship leaders are as follows:

  • Class S / Adam Blair (Darkside Developments) / 186 points
  • Class A / Darkside Developments #12 / 143 points
  • Class B / Team Norfolk / 82 points
  • Class X / AB Motorsport / 64 points

With plenty of points still to play for, and highly-anticipated trips to Oulton Park, Donington Park and Brands Hatch still to come, we can’t wait to see how the second half of the season unfolds!